Book: “I have only what I remember” by Augusta Wood


Author: Augusta Wood
Title: I have only what I remember
Magic Bird Press, 2014
Hardcover, 80 Pages, 9.5 x 10.5 x .5 inches
First Edition: 500
Essay: Rebecca Morse
Poem: W. S. Merwin
Interview: Augusta Wood with Jeremy Wood
Design: Gail Swanlund
Editor: Ginny Cook
ISBN-10: 0-615-96192-4
ISBN-13: 978-0-615-96192-7
Printed by Typecraft in Pasadena, California

In stock


I have only what I remember is a comprehensive look at Augusta Wood’s eponymous photographic series, which deals with the influence of architectural space, photographic images and the elusiveness of memory. Wood’s process for these photographs involves arranging many slide projections throughout the interior of the empty modernist home in upstate New York that her grandparents built in 1955. The work uses the architecture, photographic remnants of childhood and family, and images of her grandparents’ ingenious but eclectic art collection including Francis Bacon, Helen Frankenthaler, Roy Lichtenstein, among others, to make a genealogical vision. The enormous slide archive from which Wood draws and further augments, traces the role of art, architecture, photography, and memory on multiple levels. In this book, Los Angeles County Museum of Art curator Rebecca Morse writes: “Time is fluid in [these] photographs…each year collapsed upon another and, like our own lives, a series of stills that are not fixed, but in a continuous, cyclical motion.”

See more of Augusta Wood’s work here